Follow us:

Popular:

Categories:

Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

SERIAL THRILLER. Easter Spirit Garage’s Honda Dominator Motocrosser




January 31, 2019 at 12:18PM

Written by Martin Hodgson

It’s always the quiet and unassuming ones you have to keep an eye on, for years folks thought Ted Bundy was an average Joe. Not quite so lethal, although still the proverbial wolf in sheep’s clothing is the Honda Dominator, that enjoyed a 15 year production run. But to truly turn it into a killer you have to get its gear off and the NX650 has blossomed in the custom bike scene. So when a client approached Eastern Spirit Garage with a desire for a motocross inspired build, head honcho Sylwester knew the Honda was the weapon for the job!

Sylwester has always had an eye for taking less than desirable machinery and turning them into something amazing and the Honda has all the vital ingredients. When it was launched it seemed it would always be just a relatively cheap ‘dual sport’, that wasn’t so great off-road and with looks that would date quickly. But the engines a ripper, weight is easily shed and the simplicity of it all has made it irresistible to customisers looking to leave their mark on the Domi.

The whole process started with a bone stock and average condition 1996 Honda NX650 and the design was clear from the start. “The inspiration for this scrambler came from the client’s passion for motocross as we wanted to bring the essence of a motocross bike to the road. The client gave me a tremendous amount of freedom, though he participated in the choice of paint and disassembling the bike,” Sylwester tells us.

Perfect lines, no?

With the bike stripped back to a bare frame the cutting began, first to come off was the entire rear end. The swingarm and shock were removed and thrown in the scrap pile, while the subframe was cut back to the centre post. Based in Starawieś, Poland, the team at Eastern Spirit decided this was the perfect chance to pay tribute to a now defunct Polish company and modified an old SHL fuel tank to fit. The frame also required further modification to allow the smooth tank to sit low enough for their liking.

“All of these parts were painted with a 7-layer paint job, usually reserved for high-end, flagship cars”

The final piece of chassis modification was to create a new subframe, perfectly executed with a neat hooped tail. Atop sits the sumptuous leather seat, in old school scrambler style, with plenty of room to move around on rough surfaces. But it’s the tins that really do the talking, with the Polish fuel tank matched up to a set of hand rolled guards front and rear. “All of these parts were painted with a 7-layer paint job, usually reserved for high-end, flagship cars,” Sylwester explains. And the deep blue with contrasting pin-stripping totally transforms the look of the budget Domi into a big dollar beauty.

To turn the Honda into a rolling chassis, first a new longer swingarm had to be selected and the right bushings machined to make it fit. This was done to allow an 18 inch rim to be run at the back, more suited to on-road conditions while still maintaining the motocross look. While a new adjustable shock with custom mounts allows the bikes handling to be properly dialled in. Up front things are taken to the next level with the fitment of an unused set of forks from a 2008 Honda CRF 450.

This meant the stock brakes were now greatly overshadowed and an upgrade was vital for the new speeds planned. The front set up is now taken from a Suzuki DR 800 Big, adapted to fit the CRF front end, with a massive 320mm rotor. While out back the improvements come in the way of a 250mm rotor, with adaptors allowing the stock caliper to still work. With new master cylinders at each end stopping is just a quick tap of the brakes away. To finish the roller the 21 inch front rim and new rear were wrapped up in Michelin Anakee rubber.

Now it was time to pull the engine and I don’t just mean from the frame, the whole thing was torn down to the last bolt. The transmission was disassembled and any worn parts replaced, with new gears going in to match. The cylinder was then bored 1mm over and honed before being fitted with a new forged slug and rings from ProX. The carb then got a full rebuild kit and clean before replacing the air box with a pod filter. Finally the whole engine was painted in a heat and chemical proof black, with small gold flake, and the cooling fins ground for contrast.

I’ll be barned

To finish out the build the new full exhaust system was designed to hug the bike tight and maintain the clean lines. Before the welder was fired up and the stunning full stainless system was fabricated and capped off with twin stainless mufflers exiting under the seat. The final product is a testament to Eastern Spirit Garage’s ability to decipher a client’s desires and bring them to life in the most fantastic of forms. And having retained the 21 inch front end and with the improvements made, including shedding 39kg of weight; this Dominator is ready to rip in up on and off the road and no doubt inspire more to choose the humble Honda as a donor for their next build.

[ Eastern Spirit GarageFacebook | Photos by Mateusz Stankiewicz ]



Credit: Pipeburn.com.

As their channel suggests, they have awesome Biker content and we just love to showcase it. There's simply not enough time in the day to share everything they have, but rest assured they are real favourites here at It's A Bikers Life. Check back often and don't forget to hit us up on our social channels at the top of the page.

What do we do here?

We're all about that Biker Family here first and foremost. Other content includes: News, reviews and Biker lifestyle in pictures and videos. Harley Davidson family community. Hot babes, bike enthusiasts, custom motorcycles and choppers.

Check out more Biker Family content @ It's A Bikers Life.

UMC-51 KTM Superduke ‘Rudis’




January 30, 2019 at 03:48PM

‘Shed office chat has often lead to a few of us trying to determine the perfect donor. Most here prefer twins, Dutch is an ex-KTM geek and Shopkeep obsesses over the REV’IT! 2WD overlander from a few years back. We’ve regularly ended up with the KTM 950/990 in our top ten but none of us have customised one, yet.

But the London arm of Untitled Motorcycles has, and this futuristic marmite motorcycle is it. “I know what you are thinking. What were we thinking of? God knows! There’s a bit of Tron in there and the brutalist, concrete architecture of the 1950s. Definitely a bit of sci-fi, plus I like dirt bike design, those mad X-games bikes: so flat seats and belly pans!” UMC co-founder Adam Kay told us.

The customer wanted something angular with a belly pan, the rest was up to Adam. Well, he sure got what he asked for. The 990cc v-twin barks through an underslung stainless steel silencer box which makes up a portion of the aluminium pan.

This, the hinged seat, fuel cell and headlight assembly were first templated in card, then fabricated by Gilbert at Kern-Slade Engineering, to a daring style. Having been in the game for nearly a decade Adam was a little bored with turning-out bikes for customers who wanted to follow more traditional trends, so this project was a shot in the arm, he recounts “I wanted the bike to have a flat ‘tank’ and seat so the tank doesn’t look like a traditional bike and doesn’t contain petrol either. That’s in the subframe now and, how do I put this, holds ‘enough’ fuel. It’s probably got an 80-mile range. People talk about fuel range but honestly, after 80 miles on a bike that’s this brutal, you’ll be glad of a break!”

The headlight is an array of high power LEDs originally destined for a Jeep, powered by a Motogadget compatible loom that lives under the seat, where a regular fuel tank would live. This is now mounted slightly rear of centre and is accessed vie the hinged saddle, which must cause a stir at petrol stations. The Motoscope speedo, indicators, switchgear and keyless ignition are also from Motogadget.

The drilled plate brackets attached to the rearsets are to allow for pillion pegs to be fitted, at varied positions to suit the passenger – how jolly thoughtful. There’s also a small compartment on the nearside that houses a lock. Although you’d be a brave thief to think you’d be incognito tooling around town on something this recognisable, with blue flames shooting broadside.

Although they’d have fun trying “the KTM is such a brutal bike. A friend rode it and said that it feels like riding a thunderstorm” says Adam

“I’d guess you would call this a Marmite bike. Some people have praised it. One guy walked up to me at a show and said: ‘what the fuck have you done to that bike…’ and walked off.” 

Well, fuck him. To each their own, and this KTM, named Rudis (raw in Latin), is cherished by its owner. And frankly that’s what matters.

To hear how it sounds check this vid from a few weeks back when Adam popped in to film a piece for our YouTube Channel.

 

Images courtesy of Gary Margerum and Built Magazine

See more from Untitled Motorcycles  Bike Shed Archive  |  Web  |  Facebook  |  Instagram

The post UMC-51 KTM Superduke ‘Rudis’ appeared first on The Bike Shed.



Credit: Bikes – The Bike Shed.

As their channel suggests, they have awesome Biker content and we just love to showcase it. There's simply not enough time in the day to share everything they have, but rest assured they are real favourites here at It's A Bikers Life. Check back often and don't forget to hit us up on our social channels at the top of the page.

What do we do here?

We're all about that Biker Family here first and foremost. Other content includes: News, reviews and Biker lifestyle in pictures and videos. Harley Davidson family community. Hot babes, bike enthusiasts, custom motorcycles and choppers.

Check out more Biker Family content @ It's A Bikers Life.

NORTON V4 SS (2019-on)




January 30, 2019 at 02:48PM

A Kawasaki ZX-10RR would probably lap a race track a fraction quicker, while Ducati’s Panigale V4 might be faster at some circuits. But if you’re only interested in lap times you’re missing the point...

Credit: MCN Bike Reviews.

As their channel suggests, they have awesome Biker content and we just love to showcase it. There's simply not enough time in the day to share everything they have, but rest assured they are real favourites here at It's A Bikers Life. Check back often and don't forget to hit us up on our social channels at the top of the page.

What do we do here?

We're all about that Biker Family here first and foremost. Other content includes: News, reviews and Biker lifestyle in pictures and videos. Harley Davidson family community. Hot babes, bike enthusiasts, custom motorcycles and choppers.

Check out more Biker Family content @ It's A Bikers Life.

BEELZEBOB. Madhouse Motors’ ‘Devil’s Advocate’ 1957 Indian




January 30, 2019 at 12:15PM

Written by Andrew Jones

I have long thought that the original Mad Max is the best bike movie ever made. If you’ve never seen it, then do so immediately. And if you don’t agree with me, then clearly you are wrong. It’s pretty much perfect. Improving on it would be harder than climbing Everest in roller skates. But there is one thing I think just might up the ante on the original, and that’s setting it in a post-apocalyptic California in the late ’50s. And if you did, then Boston’s Madhouse Motors have just built the new movie’s star bike – their wild ‘Devil’s Advocate’ 1957 Indian bobber.

Speaking to us from the bitter cold of a hard Massachusetts winter, Madhouse’s main brain, J. Shia, talked us through all their latest news. “The shop is still chugging along and growing. We are going on our third year in our new building in Boston. We are kept busy with antique restorations this year, which I love having around the shop. Personally, I’ve been lucky enough to get a lot of weekends off to spend time in the woods with my son which really helps balance out the life in the shop.”

We asked J what on earth made her create a bike like this. “That’s pretty hard to answer. I was inspired by the pre and post WWII machines, English bobbers and old steam trains.” You had us a WWII, J. The donor bike was a ‘Royal Enfield Indian’ from 1957. At the time, Indian sold two 700cc models with Royal Enfield DNA: the ‘Trailblazer’ and the ‘Apache’. After the Indian factory in Springfield closed in 1953, the company started importing English Enfields and rebadged them as Indians to meet American demand. This is just such a bike.

J and the Devil, sans fairing

“This bike was put into a friend’s basement in the 70’s. The basement was then renovated around the motorcycle, stranding it high and dry for 40 years or thereabouts. To get it out we had to carry it vertically up over a flight of crazy steep stairs.” That kind of makes your run-of-the-mill barn find bike seem a little dull, huh?

“I view her as older, dark and with worn-in features. She’s a lady who sits ands chain smokes on an old red leather chair.”

The creative spark for this bike stems from a narrative J had in her head since building her last project, an equally out-there BSA A65 with a pull start instead of the stock kick lever. “I viewed that build as a young, scrappy, British street fighting boy. This bike is his mother, whose character I felt I needed to let loose and create to honor the image I had brewing in my mind. I view her as older, dark and with worn-in features. She’s a lady who sits ands chain smokes on an old red leather chair while slowly turning her head as people walk by.”

Push the button

“The start of this project was from a handful of sketches I did after first seeing the bike in its stock form. Those sketches laid out the stance I was hoping to achieve. From there I set my mind to building a foot throttle and a hand shifter that ran through the tank. After the stance and performance concept was set we had to do a full top end, clutch and transmission rebuild. During this process I started to envision stretching the frame, and incorporating a ‘dual mono shock’ set-up. We then cut down the front end and triple tree.”

Check out that footrest. What an awesome idea

After the rolling chassis was completed, the tank was modified to accommodate the hand shift and the exhaust routing was laid out. J and the team began adding parts that compliment the general mood and character of the bike. The foot controls are made from a salvaged mini bike triple tree and handlebars. And as you can see in the above photo, they have used a ‘Brannock Device’ shoe fitting gadget as foot rests. And it just gets better from there. “The seat’s first life was as a little red wagon steering yoke. An egg slicer with LEDs is now the tail light. The headlight came from a modified police spot light and the tank shift lever came from an old lathe that is set into an adjustable housing inside the tank.”

“The hardest part was creating a machine that I was so emotionally invested in. The amount of parts that were fully made, installed, then ended up needing revision was more than on any other project I’ve worked on. There had been parts that were made and functioned just fine, but didn’t compliment the bike as a whole. Putting my pride aside to start over was hard, but also extremely gratifying.”

Sliced eggs, anyone?

And J’s fondest memory from the build? “It’s the feeling of growth and community I get when looking at this bike. During this build, I reached out to multiple people who I look up to either as fabricators, machinist, mechanics or creative minds. They all contributed to this project in huge ways; either by giving me private lessons in precision welding, machining, brainstorming ideas or even being hands on. The collaboration of all these characters makes this bike what it is. And being able to work alongside so many people who helped bring this vision to life makes me proud of the communal side of Madhouse Motors.”

[ Madhouse MotorsInstagramFacebook | Photos by Gretchen Devine and Stephen Canino ]



Credit: Pipeburn.com.

As their channel suggests, they have awesome Biker content and we just love to showcase it. There's simply not enough time in the day to share everything they have, but rest assured they are real favourites here at It's A Bikers Life. Check back often and don't forget to hit us up on our social channels at the top of the page.

What do we do here?

We're all about that Biker Family here first and foremost. Other content includes: News, reviews and Biker lifestyle in pictures and videos. Harley Davidson family community. Hot babes, bike enthusiasts, custom motorcycles and choppers.

Check out more Biker Family content @ It's A Bikers Life.

XTR Pepo Ducati 821




January 29, 2019 at 11:33AM

Madrid’s XTR Pepo turns-out endurance racer inspired customs at a furious rate and this 2016 Ducati Monster 821 is the latest. We’ve been big fans of Pepo’s work since his Radical Ducati days and we’ve featured a number of his bikes here on the ‘Shed. It’s just a shame that Madrid is so far from London as we’d like to see more XTR bikes exhibited at our May show.

Perhaps we can assemble a flotilla of Spaniards to share the trip over… watch this space. In the meantime head to the XTR website for the full tech specs on this, the ‘Pantah.

See more from XTR Pepo on   Bike Shed Archive | Instagram | Facebook | Web

Images by Marc Holstein

The post XTR Pepo Ducati 821 appeared first on The Bike Shed.



Credit: Bikes – The Bike Shed.

As their channel suggests, they have awesome Biker content and we just love to showcase it. There's simply not enough time in the day to share everything they have, but rest assured they are real favourites here at It's A Bikers Life. Check back often and don't forget to hit us up on our social channels at the top of the page.

What do we do here?

We're all about that Biker Family here first and foremost. Other content includes: News, reviews and Biker lifestyle in pictures and videos. Harley Davidson family community. Hot babes, bike enthusiasts, custom motorcycles and choppers.

Check out more Biker Family content @ It's A Bikers Life.

SNOW PATROL. Number 8 Wire’s Cool Honda CL350 Desert Sled




January 29, 2019 at 10:47AM

Written by Andrew Jones

My kids recently took much pleasure in tripping me up with some trivia they had learnt in school. “What’s the largest desert in the world?” they quizzed, with a smug look on their faces. “The Sahara,” I proclaimed, confidently. “Wrong. It’s Antarctica!” they squealed. Of course, the little shits were right. Most people think that deserts are hot and dry, but really it’s just a lack of precipitation that defines them. So when I saw this snow-bound ‘Desert Sled’ from Montana’s Number 8 Wire, the whole sorry incident came rushing back. Lucky for me, there was a cool Honda CL350 custom on hand to numb the pain.

Speaking of the wilderness, it seems to be just the way Number 8’s number one likes it. “I am Colin Cornberg, the owner and operator of Number 8 Wire Motorcycles in Philipsburg, Montana. I do everything on the bikes except the paint and upholstery. I currently work out of my garage in the woods which is about 8 miles south of a town of 900 or so people.”

Snow place for the faint of heart

Aside from the usual business moves, Colin’s current big project is a supercharged Harley Street 750 he’s building for a client. Having already eyed the work in progress, we’re confident the bike will be a real head turner. And Colin seems to think so, too. “It will be unveiled at the 1 Moto Show this February in Portland.” We can’t wait to see the finished product in person when we’re there.

“As for this bike, it’s a purpose-built scrambler that started life as a 1972 Honda CL350,” Colin says, “It is called the ‘Desert Rose’. I got the donor bike from a friend a few years ago as a basket case. It’s the usual story with older bikes around here.” But Colin was determined to reverse the ravages of time and piss poor home mechanics, so he got to work.

“The inspiration for the build was to have a vintage desert sled I could enter in my friend Anthony’s ‘Revivalhouse Desert Race’ in Oregon.” Those up to speed on the West Coast custom scene in the US will know Anthony as the owner of Enginethusiast customs. “Turns out the bike was sold before the event, so I ended up having to ride in the modern class.”

“The inspiration for the build was to have a vintage desert sled I could enter in my friend Anthony’s ‘Revivalhouse Desert Race’ in Oregon.”

The bike’s transformation required a full engine rebuild; this included oversized OEM pistons, a cylinder bore, a valve job and an upgraded cam chain system. “I wanted it to be rideable off-road, so I slapped on an old XL250 front end.” Of course, it wasn’t that simple. It never is. “I had to extend the stem and play around with some bearings to get it to all work properly.”

“After bringing that front end up, I had to then extend the swingarm and go for much longer shocks than stock. Next was the headlight cowl and faceplate, which I formed out of aluminum sheet.” Then plastic fenders, LED lighting, some new wiring, electronic ignition and a Trail Tech computer were added to bring the build up-to-date and to simplify the ride, crash, fix, repeat process. “As I do with all my builds, I finished it off by making a bespoke stainless exhaust with twin Cone engineering mufflers.”

“This was a fun build. I’ve done a bunch of these Honda twins in the last few years and it seems rare to not have a couple of the engines on the bench. The most time-consuming part of the build was probably extending the swingarm, steering stem and kickstand.” And after all the hard work, what are his final thoughts? “The aesthetic of the bike combined with the fact that it actually is old and it rips is what I like most about this build.” Me and my over-educated kids couldn’t agree more.

Colin calls it. Time for a warm drink

[ Number 8 Wire MotorcyclesInstagramFacebook | Photos by Eric Bunting ]



Credit: Pipeburn.com.

As their channel suggests, they have awesome Biker content and we just love to showcase it. There's simply not enough time in the day to share everything they have, but rest assured they are real favourites here at It's A Bikers Life. Check back often and don't forget to hit us up on our social channels at the top of the page.

What do we do here?

We're all about that Biker Family here first and foremost. Other content includes: News, reviews and Biker lifestyle in pictures and videos. Harley Davidson family community. Hot babes, bike enthusiasts, custom motorcycles and choppers.

Check out more Biker Family content @ It's A Bikers Life.

DIRTY MIND. Fabtech’s Obsessive Harley Sportster Hooligan




January 25, 2019 at 12:05PM

Written by Martin Hodgson

Hooligan racing is – as the name suggests – a hell of a lot of fun and when an Aussie caught a glimpse of the action he wanted in, bad. The machines are road-based; a mix of street tracker and dirt bike that rip it up on the flat track. For Australian metal fabricator extraordinaire Jamie Portelli of Fabtech Creations, a trip to the USA had him hooked and he started planning the build before he’d even boarded the QANTAS flight home. The end result is this rampaging 1997 Harley Davidson 1200 Sportster ‘Super Hooligan’ that’s ready to rip it up and then hit the highway after victory.

“I first saw the “Super Hooligan” bike race when it was introduced at the X Games in Minneapolis and instantly loved the flat track concept. I returned to X Games in 2018 to support friends who ride in the Super Hooligan series and was impressed with how far the concept and standard of riders and bikes had developed,” explains Jamie. Instantly he knew it was something he wanted to be a part of and started to make calls back home to Australia about suitable donor bikes that were for sale and also picked up a bunch of parts for the project before leaving stateside.

Arriving home, he took the 10 hour journey to Brisbane where he found the ’97 Sporty and it was just the right bike to get things going. As to whether he was up to the task of creating a Super Hooligan machine, it was never in question, Mr Portelli is no ordinary talent. He doesn’t just build bikes, but is also involved in the custom car scene, a range of high-end metal fab projects and was one of the men responsible for making Robbie Maddison’s Pipe Dream of riding a bike on the ocean possible.

“He was one of the men responsible for making Robbie Maddison’s Pipe Dream of riding a bike on the ocean possible.”

Mother nature really turned it on for the shoot

So it comes as no surprise that the moment the bike was in his workshop, he had it stripped down in a matter of hours. But before he started, he’d done his homework, “I researched the history, the builds and riding techniques and now must say have become completely hooked on the concept – I wanted to design, build and race. I knew I had the skills with the design and build but would now need to step outside of my comfort zone to learn the track side of things,” Jamie tells us.

The first step was to get the basic look right and the rear subframe was quickly removed with the grinder fired into life. Atop the shortened section is a Saddlemen tracker tail and seat, while a peanut tank makes for the perfect match. But while weight reduction helps, taming the track largely rests on the suspensions shoulders with a heavy bike and Jamie has it dialled in. The rear end features a set of 14” Racing Bros “Bazooka” shocks, a well proven product for the Harley.

Pinstriping adds a nice custom feel to all that track attitude

Up front, the stock forks have been gutted with the new internals drastically improving front feel thanks to Racing Bros Scepter cartridge inserts. To mount up the Pro Taper flat track handlebars required solid mounts that Jamie machined in-house. To keep things simple he stuck to only the essentials, “Sticking to the dirt bike theme, I ran a similar style of start/stop switches”. While a custom-made clutch cable now takes its seat in a Works Connection clutch perch. And Jamie made his own throttle cables to work with the Motion Pro throttle assembly.

For a hooligan, this bike sure has good taste

Engine work is mild but brilliantly executed, a few extra horsepower and subtle touches to make sure it’ll go heats and win finals. A Fabtech machined intake adaptor features an internal bellmouth and allows for the fitment of an RSD air-filter. So the oil doesn’t vent back into the engine Jamie welded up a catch can that runs back to the tank and breathes through a K&N filter. While the exhaust is simply a work of art, purge welded stainless steel pipes and machined adaptors finish out in a barking mad “titanium Pro-Circuit pipe off one of the factory Pro-Circuit race bikes in the states.”

Now the bike could be stripped down and with the frame and associated parts out for powder coat we learn of another of Portelli’s skills. He laid down the stunning paint job himself, with a finish so nice it’s almost too good to see the dirt. While Smith Concepts added the last layer with the gold leaf and pinstripping, that includes his race number, replicated on the front board. To complete the look the Hooligan class runs a 19 inch front and rear wheel. So aluminium adaptors were machined that allow a front wheel to be mounted out back.

At this point Jamie treated the Harley to a chain conversion that’s complemented by a Rusty Butcher billet sprocket cover. While a set of Shinko’s flat track tyres and Hellride pegs from NZ finish out the build. “I don’t like the idea of bolting a bunch of off the shelf parts on my bikes, so to sit back and see that a lot of the build was done in-house is quite humbling,” Portelli tells us proudly. And when you can do this level of work its little wonder the likes of Robbie Maddison come calling. Now all that’s left to do is ride the #66 like the proper Super Hooligan that she is!

Jamie and one very wet Harley

[ Fabtech CreationsInstagramFacebook | Photos by Andrew Jones ]



Credit: Pipeburn.com.

As their channel suggests, they have awesome Biker content and we just love to showcase it. There's simply not enough time in the day to share everything they have, but rest assured they are real favourites here at It's A Bikers Life. Check back often and don't forget to hit us up on our social channels at the top of the page.

What do we do here?

We're all about that Biker Family here first and foremost. Other content includes: News, reviews and Biker lifestyle in pictures and videos. Harley Davidson family community. Hot babes, bike enthusiasts, custom motorcycles and choppers.

Check out more Biker Family content @ It's A Bikers Life.

KTM RC8 (2008-2010)




January 24, 2019 at 05:30PM

The RC8 was the revelation of 2008, despite it being teased by KTM for the previous four years. Perhaps we should’ve given KTM more credit at the time because all their machines (on and off-road) to...

Credit: MCN Bike Reviews.

As their channel suggests, they have awesome Biker content and we just love to showcase it. There's simply not enough time in the day to share everything they have, but rest assured they are real favourites here at It's A Bikers Life. Check back often and don't forget to hit us up on our social channels at the top of the page.

What do we do here?

We're all about that Biker Family here first and foremost. Other content includes: News, reviews and Biker lifestyle in pictures and videos. Harley Davidson family community. Hot babes, bike enthusiasts, custom motorcycles and choppers.

Check out more Biker Family content @ It's A Bikers Life.

Dani Pedrosa’s Deus Tracker




January 24, 2019 at 04:18PM

With a heavy heart, and a busted skeleton, fan and ‘Shed favourite Dani Pedrosa hung up his helmet and retired from racing at the end of last season. The silver lining though was that Woolie from Deus USA has been building this tasty Honda CR500 tracker which was handed over the other day.

If you don’t follow Woolie on Insta, you should. His builds are some of the best out there. Find out more in this video. And there a there are a stack more photos and the spec list over on the Deus website.

The post Dani Pedrosa’s Deus Tracker appeared first on The Bike Shed.



Credit: Bikes – The Bike Shed.

As their channel suggests, they have awesome Biker content and we just love to showcase it. There's simply not enough time in the day to share everything they have, but rest assured they are real favourites here at It's A Bikers Life. Check back often and don't forget to hit us up on our social channels at the top of the page.

What do we do here?

We're all about that Biker Family here first and foremost. Other content includes: News, reviews and Biker lifestyle in pictures and videos. Harley Davidson family community. Hot babes, bike enthusiasts, custom motorcycles and choppers.

Check out more Biker Family content @ It's A Bikers Life.

SMARTY PANTAH. XTR Pepo’s Stunning Ducati Monster 821 Racer




January 24, 2019 at 02:24PM

Written by Marlon Slack

In only a short few years Spain’s XTR Pepo have produced the best racer-inspired customs in the world. Every time one of their builds smashes into our inbox we drop what we’re doing, drop our trousers and get ready for some serious Italian eye candy. This time was no exception, with the unveiling of their 2016 Ducati Monster dubbed ‘Pantah’.

Head of XTR Pepo, Pepo Rosell, hasn’t arrived at the acme of the Italian bike custom scene by accident. He slogged away for years with a Ducati importer before striking out on his own, crafting high-end Ducati builds for both race and road use. He fronted ‘Radical Ducati’ for 14 long years before switching things up and starting XTR Pepo – a rolling masterclass of Ducati custom bikes.

The ‘Pantah’ started it’s life as an unspectacular 2016 Monster 821, purchased for a song from a Barcelona local. And on the drive home, Pepo already knew what he wanted to build. “I was going to make a tribute to the original Ducati Pantah launch in 1978,” Pepo says, “There’s a lot of Ducati lovers that would love to have a bike with modern technology but dressed as an old and classic race bike. And they’re really the DNA of the brand”.

You should see it in the flesh. It looks even better when you’re drooling on it

And sure, the Monster has some sort of race-bred DNA deep inside, but it’s still a hell of a leap from a naked street bike to an endurance-racer inspired build. But life, uh, finds a way. Sure, there’d be a mountain of scratch-built bodywork in the conversion. But it would be worth it, especially with Pepo planning on developing it as a bolt-on kit. That’s right, kids. You – the unworthy frothing masses – can purchase this bodywork for your own Monster.

“The result, rendered in fibreglass and a triumph of proportion, is nothing short of bloody incredible.”

First up, Pepo made up a set of bolt-on brackets mount to while the design and modelling itself went to an Italian genius by the name of Alberto Caimi. The result, rendered in fibreglass and a triumph of proportion, is nothing short of bloody incredible.

It’s like every kid’s moto fantasies combined into one bike

But if all the ‘Pantah’ offered us, dear reader, was the jaw-dropping lines of the new bodywork we’d be impressed. But there’s a lot more happening here. A hell of a lot. There’s the straight forward stuff – the DNA air filters, Ohlins shocks, Andreani fork internals and Spark exhaust system – but there’s a whole host of in-house custom goodies that really make the ‘Pantah’ pop.

The slimline front mudguard is produced by XTR, as well as the mounting brackets. The clip-ons were designed in-house, the fuel tank, the levers, windshield, lighting, seat and even the subframe. And the best thing? Everything is bolt on.

There’s many more parts taken from other companies’ catalogues too. Carbon4us water reservoir, exhaust covers, coil covers and rear mudguard, for a start. A Ducabike hydraulic clutch conversion kit. Almost nothing remains unchanged.

But the real beauty is in XTR’s carefully-considered bodywork, of which Pepo is rightfully proud. “The design, I think, is simply superb,” he says. “It’s racy and strong but still manages to be elegant”. And the best thing? If you’ve got a 821 or 1200 Monster you can head to XTR’s website, lay down your hard-earned and be well on your way to building something as awe-inspiring as this.

XTR Pepo – Facebook – Instagram | Photos by Marc Holstein ]



Credit: Pipeburn.com.

As their channel suggests, they have awesome Biker content and we just love to showcase it. There's simply not enough time in the day to share everything they have, but rest assured they are real favourites here at It's A Bikers Life. Check back often and don't forget to hit us up on our social channels at the top of the page.

What do we do here?

We're all about that Biker Family here first and foremost. Other content includes: News, reviews and Biker lifestyle in pictures and videos. Harley Davidson family community. Hot babes, bike enthusiasts, custom motorcycles and choppers.

Check out more Biker Family content @ It's A Bikers Life.